The IAMG Student Grants Committee (Tim. C. Coburn (chair), Clayton Deutsch (University of Alberta, Edmonton), Peter Atkinson (Southampton University, UK), Fred Delay (University of Poitiers, France) has completed its work for 2003 and is pleased to announce the results of the competition. Fourteen applications were received this year, including many good proposals. After considerable deliberation, the Committee has made awards to four students. This year’s winners and the titles of their proposals are listed below:

Ranie Lynds, Department of Geology and Gophysics, University of Wyoming: Quantifying depositional slope in sandy braided rivers: predicting skin frictional shear stress from sedimentary structures

Kurt Steffen, Department of Earth and Planetary Science, University of New Mexico: Modeling the interaction of metamorphism and deformation using numerical techniques

Amanda Ellison, Department of Geology, University of Colorado: Analysis and modeling of stratigraphic architecture in the Upper Cretaceous Williams Fork Formation, Piceance Basin, Colorado from outcrop studies and high-resolution Lidar imaging

Tristan Wellman, Department of Geology and Geological Engineering, Colorado School of Mines: Relating known fracture architecture to fluid flow and pressure distribution, using high-resolution computed tomography, laboratory experiments, and deterministic numerical simulation



Additional information